top of page

Our Orchestra


The AMERSHAM FESTIVAL CHAMBER ORCHESTRA is made up of outstanding players from leading London chamber and symphony orchestras and ensembles.


The orchestra first performed in the 1986 Amersham Festival of Music and since then has built up a reputation for lively and polished performances of the baroque and classical repertoire characterised by freshness of approach and a real sense of enjoyment in music making.


Many of the players are soloists in their own right and have performed concertos and concertante parts in our Amersham concerts. In recent years the orchestra has performed all the Brandenburg Concertos and the four Orchestral Suites by Bach, many of Handel’s Concerti Grossi and most of the major piano concertos and later symphonies by Mozart as well as a wide range of 19th and 20th century music, often combining with distinguished soloists including Philip Fowke, Paul Lewis, Leland Chen, Nicola Loud, Frank Wibaut, Charlotte Barbour-Condini and Lynsey Marsh along with many very talented singers from the Royal Academy of Music.

Violins - Charlotte Edwards, Keith Lewis, Justine Tomlinson, Jeremy Sampson, Vernon Dean, Rebecca Alfree, Rachel Bunn, Marjory King, Nancy Taylor, Zoe Davies, Karin Newcomb, Steven Rouse, Lynette Wynn

Violas - Nicholas Evans-Pughe, Jason Glover, Fay Sweet, Maria Prowse

Cellos - Anne-Isabel Meyer, Jennifer Janse, Sharon Beale

Double Bass - Caroline Maguire, Lucy Rundle

Flutes - Timothy Taylorson, Mary Parker

Oboes - Deborah Goodyer, Gwenllian Davies

Clarinets - Neville Graham, Alan Andrews

Bassoons - Tamsin Rowlinson,
Rachel Edmonds

Horns - Richard Wainwright, Clare Lintott

Trumpets - Oliver Preece, David Ward

Timpani - Mark Taylor

bottom of page