top of page

Elgar, Finzi and Tchaikovsky

Saturday 14th October at 8.00pm 

St Mary's Church, Amersham

Iain Ledingham (Conductor)

Nia Coleman (Soprano)

  • ELGAR • Serenade for Strings

  • FINZI • Dies Natalis  

  • RACHMANINOFF • Vocalise

  • TCHAIKOVSKY • Serenade for Strings

Sponsored by the Friends of Amersham Festival.

We open our Winter Series of concerts with masterpieces for string orchestra which will showcase the outstanding quality of our string players.  Elgar’s lovely Serenade was an early work which did much to establish his reputation.  The central Adagio anticipates some of his greatest achievements.


Gerald Finzi is one of the best-loved of 20th century English composers and Dies Natalis, for soprano and string orchestra, is his masterpiece.  The text by the 17th century poet Thomas Traherne evokes a glorious vision of the world as seen through the eyes of a newborn child, perfectly matched by Finzi’s rapturous music.  We welcome back soprano Nia Coleman, a singer and actress of rare imagination and sensitivity. After recent work with English Touring Opera and Longborough Festival Opera she is currently working with the Royal Danish Opera in Copenhagen.

Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings is surely the supreme romantic work for string orchestra. The magnificent outer movements enclose an enchanting Waltz and a wonderfully expressive and poignant Elegy

Tickets: £30 (premium seats, reserved) £25 (reserved) £20 (reserved) £11 (unreserved) £5 (students) 


Nia Coleman Pic.jpg
bottom of page