top of page


Friday 5th April at 7.30pm 

The Duke's Hall, The Royal Academy of Music, Marylebone


IAIN LEDINGHAM (conductor)

ANGHARAD ROWLANDS  (mezzo-soprano)

  • Symphony No 35 (Haffner Symphony) • MOZART

  • Arias from The Marriage of Figaro • MOZART

  • The Barber of Seville • ROSSINI

  • Symphony No 39 in E flat major • MOZART

Duke's Hall.jpg

The Amersham Festival Society Committee is delighted and proud that the first concert of our 40th anniversary celebrations will take place in the magnificent Duke's Hall at the Royal Academy of Music.  A very special occasion.  This has been made possible by our distinguished Artistic Director, Iain Ledingham, who is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Music and professor in piano, vocal and opera faculties at the RAM.  Iain will be conducting our Amersham Festival Chamber Orchestra.  We do hope that you will join us for this splendid start to our 40th Spring Festival.

Academy Baroque Soloists--Frances Marshall-2513.jpg

We celebrate the Amersham Festival’s 40th year with a special gala concert in the splendid Duke's Hall at the Royal Academy of Music.  The Amersham Festival Chamber Orchestra has been the cornerstone of our festivals ever since it was established in 1987, providing first-class professional orchestral concerts to large and enthusiastic audiences.

Mozart’s music has featured regularly in our programmes and this concert will feature two of his greatest symphonies.  What better work could there be for a festive occasion than the exuberantly joyful Haffner Symphony, composed to celebrate the ennoblement of Sigmund Haffner, the head of a prominent Salzburg family?  It is a virtuosic and hugely enjoyable work.

The orchestra will be joined by two highly talented young singers from the opera department at the Royal Academy of Music, to perform famous arias from The Marriage of Figaro and Rossini’s The Barber of Seville.  Over the years, the Festival has featured many gifted singers from the RAM who are now enjoying distinguished careers.

The concert will end with Mozart’s Symphony No 39, the first of the great trilogy of symphonies composed towards the end of his life

Tickets: £50

bottom of page