Mozart and Haydn


Friday 8th February 2019 at 8.00pm

St James' Church

Oxford Road

Gerrards Cross





  • Mozart  Piano Concerto No 9 in E flat major                                                    

  • Haydn  Symphony No 45 “Farewell”

  • Mozart  Flute  Concerto in D major 

  • Haydn  Symphony no 43 “Mercury” 



Jennifer Stinton (Flute)

Iain Ledingham (Conductor/Pianist)



Mozart’s 9th Piano Concerto is generally considered to be the first major concerto of his maturity – a work in which he took the formal and expressive qualities of the genre to a new level. It ranks with the great Sinfonia Concertante for Violin and Viola (performed in our last concert series) as one of the most profound works of that period, which led on to the great series of concertos and operas which were to follow during Mozart’s years in Vienna.   The interplay between pianist and orchestra is fascinating and very colourful. In addition, our distinguished principal flute player, Jennifer Stinton, will perform Mozart’s elegant and delightful Concerto in D major. The vivacious outer movements enclose a slow movement of great lyrical beauty and pathos. 

Mozart’s friend Haydn is a composer particularly noted for his sense of humour. His “Farewell” Symphony, No 45, combines the Sturm und Drang drama often associated with that period in his music with a charming Minuet in which the musicians end the symphony by gradually leaving the orchestra – a witty but pointed message to their employer Prince Nicolaus  Esterhazy who had been denying them time to go and visit their families during a period of residence at his summer palace!


The programme includes another very fine, if rarely heard, Haydn Symphony, nicknamed the “Mercury” in the 19th century. It is a warm and vigorous work containing a particularly fine slow movement.



Tickets: £ 20 and £15. Students £5.