top of page

Amersham Festival Chamber Orchestra

Friday 28th April at 8.00 pm 

St Mary's Church, Amersham

Charlotte Edwards (Leader and soloist)

Iain Ledingham (Conductor)

  • MENDELSSOHN  The Hebrides Overture (Fingal's Cave)

  • VAUGHAN WILLIAMS  The Lark Ascending

  • HAMISH MACCUNN  Land of the Mountain and the Flood

  • MENDELSSOHN  Symphony No. 4 (Scottish)

A musical celebration of the British Isles and of Scotland in particular.  Mendelssohn was a frequent visitor to Great Britain and his music was enthusiastically received by the British public.  He was the favourite composer of Queen Victoria and he dedicated his ‘Scottish’ Symphony to her.  Mendelssohn was deeply impressed by the scenic beauty of Scotland, and this inspired him to write the highly evocative Hebrides Overture and the magnificent ‘Scottish’ Symphony.

We also include Hamish MacCunn’s iconic ‘Land of the Mountain and the Flood’ a wonderfully evocative and tuneful tribute to his native Scotland.

The Lark Ascending is one of Vaughan Williams’ best loved works and our distinguished leader Charlotte Edwards will be our soloist in this quintessentially English pastoral music

Tickets: £22, £16, £11, Students £5 (All seats reserved.)


Charlotte Edwards photo portrait.jpg
Iain 4.jpg
bottom of page