Baroque Masterpieces


Friday 13th October 2017 at 8.00pm
St Mary's Parish Church
Old Amersham


  • Bach  Brandenburg Concerto No 1

  • Handel  Water Music Suite in F

  • Bach  Concerto for Violin and Oboe

  • Handel  Concerto Grosso in C minor


Iain Ledingham (Director)

Charlotte Edwards (violin) Christopher Hooker (oboe)



The first Brandenburg Concerto is the most richly scored of Bach's magnificent series of orchestral concertos. The strings are joined by three oboists and horns to create a highly colourful and vivid  ensemble, combining courtly elegance and rustic vigour.


Handel used a similar orchestra for his splendid Water Music Suite in F major - an entrancing sequence of ten movements, ranging from the Italianate concerto style of the opening overture to a lively selection of popular dances of the time. Our programme also features the fine Concerto Grosso in C minor from his great collection Opus 6.


Bach's Concerto for Violin and Oboe is one of his best loved works. The elegant discourse of the opening movement gives way to a slow movement of rare lyrical beauty leading to a Finale of great rhythmic energy and exuberance.



Tickets: £ 20, £15 and £10